Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

As a matter of fact, all different levels of education, from primary school to university, have designed the basic and advance educational goals for students to achieve in their learning process. In my opinion, however, most students spend too much time on learning facts from textbooks or teachers’ lectures, rather than learning the practical skills from classroom which should get ready to be used in daily life or fit in the competitive working places.

Everyone is unique that shall be trained or taught differently. Sadly to say most students receive the same subjects’ study, and learning programs, and individual talent is often ignored by massive quizzes, homework and textbook exercises in all levels of education. Students are not supposed to be omniscient in all subjects to get high grade as a way to prove their abilities or skills learned from schools. In the period of primary school, students should learn more the family value, find happy moment in communication with peers, and know how to protect themselves from strangers. During the days of junior high and high school, students should learn more about personal hygiene, case study of social order, professional skills learning for future career in accordance with personal talent, quality, training and interests.

The advance study in the university is not suitable for everyone. The diploma sometimes proves one who has wasted 4-year study in classroom not to have right skills for a job or to work in the field irrelevant to his or her learning in the university.

In fact, many people take certain courses in night schools so to keep up with the new science or professional skills to improve their work or career. Instead of reading lines of figures, facts or history from textbooks, the particular practices and occupational skill-training are what we need to survive in the competitive society.

To summarize, I agree to spend more time in practical skill training, not only fact learning in all levels of education. If local industries, schools and government work together to bridge educational purposes and goals, students will have promising career and happy life without regrets in spending long time in schools.