Technology has brought a revolution in education. Most schools are using electronic media instead of traditional books recently. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of using electronic media in schools

The primary benefit of using digital media by schools is the convenience. Students can get the entire curriculum in one simple tablet instead of carrying the complete sets of books. Also, the user interface helps the students in navigating the content. A recent research by Gallup stated that learning through the digital medium is ten percent more effective than through the traditional paper system. The second benefit is the cheaper cost of digital media. Most of the e-books are available for free and students need not spend on buying costly books. The latest study by British Council stated that the digital content is 50% cheaper than the physical copies.

However, there are drawbacks of replacing traditional printed materials with digital media. Firstly, it is hazardous to health, especially for eyes. Reading via electronic devices cause eyestrain which could affect the vision in long term. A recent report from WHO stated that the average age of children wearing spectacles has dropped to 5 from 15 yrs in last decade. Secondly, the digital medium is more vulnerable to piracy, especially with low data rates. A recent study by BC found that the publishing houses lost 50% of revenue due to digital piracy.

To conclude , the transition to digital medium has its own consequences though it looks promising to students , the governments should bring strict laws against piracy and the digital device companies should focus on health friendly instruments.