These days people in some countries are living in a "throw-away society" which mean people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are it's causes? What could be done to address this issue?

Nowadays, in certain societies, people are buying and throwing things frivolously. There are several causes but some measures could be taken in place to alleviate this problem.

Various factors have contributed to the above situation. The main one is that the growth of consumerism in many countries leads to the changes in consumers' behaviors of how they purchase and use goods. People tend to buy things impulsively without consideration of their actual needs like cars, gadgets or luxury items. Consumers also upgrade these products or services often just to keep up with the trends on the market. Moreover, our society is becoming more and more materialistic where people are demanding more than their basic needs and finding a way to showcase their individualities. People believe that owning and buying things are necessary means to achieve life goals such as happiness, success or desirability. For instance, the perception of "4Cs" in some societies which stands for "car, cash, condominium, and credit card" is one of the measures of how successful in life a person is.

Several courses could be given to address these problems. The government should launch an education campaign to raise public awareness about the usefulness of using environmentally sustainable products by promoting these on different media. Although the consumerism might not be easy to control but at least, the more environment-friendly goods people use, the better for societies in the long-term. Everyone will have chances to respect the environment and learn how to reduce the disposal of waste materials as well as the benefits of recycling. Besides, people should also learn how to control their excessive buying habits and plan their financial status carefully to cut their level of debts and prevent long-working hours to earn more to pay for their high consumption-lifestyle. For instance, engaging a financial specialist from a bank could be a good start for everyone to re-plan his or her monthly expenses correctly.

In conclusion, various factors have led to many societies with consumerism, but this situation could be addressed by raising awareness among the public to use more nonchemical products and control their spendings effectively. Given this situation, it is recommended that steps should be taken immediately to ensure the sustainable development of the economies and nations.