Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic?

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

People’s interests of exploration are changing when compared to the past. A vast multitude are travelling for experience and adventure to destinations where the weather conditions are extreme. This trend is getting extremely popular. Equal proportions of benefits and drawbacks are associated to the travelers.

Firstly, the masses develop a keen interest in such places because of the experience which they haven’t felt before, while some are for adventurous expeditions such as trekking, mountain climbing. The benefits what they derive from such visits are the tourists have an opportunity to analyse and assimilate the local lifestyle in such conditions. Furthermore, they could witness the distinct flora and fauna that survive in these places. Sahara desert, for instance, which is a habitat for rare wild species like the Sahara lions and Sahara elephants attracts tourists from all parts of the world in spite of the soaring heats in the territory. Similarly, Antarctica, which is a home for thousands of penguins. Hence, tourists throng to these destinations for memorable life experiences which could not be experienced otherwise.

Despite of these advantages, tourists who visits the places of unconventional weather tend to develop health issues. The temperatures at deserts or areas closer to the poles differ drastically than usual. Some tourists may not be able to withstand the scorching heat and are effected by sun stroke, dehydration and skin allergies. Likewise, respiratory problems and cold feet when traveled to freezing places. These could also result in life loss. Several such incidents are reported every year in desserts of Rajasthan in India.

Therefore, tourism to locations like deserts and freezing cold places can be exciting and adventurous, a negative fact of health degradation has to be considered.