What are the advantages and disadvantages of free trade?

It’s nothing to argue that Free trade have some advantages. It’s clear that free trade has positively affected the economy. It is an engine of economic growth. This is because, free trade can help to integrate the countries into the world economy. So, countries can freely more products across borders, which increase export of the countries. Besides, it is also the increase of foreign direct investment. Investors will flock to the country. This adds capital to expand local industries and boost domestic businesses. As a result, it makes the money supply increase and the economy development. Another important advantage is improvement standard of living. In fact, free trade will create more opportunities to have better income since people can work in foreign companies where have higher salary. I could be wrong but I think free trade also help to decrease the taxes that consumers must pay to buy goods and services.

In contrast, free trade also has many disadvantages. As we can see, although opportunity jobs are higher, working conditions are lower. Multi-national companies may outsource jobs to emerging market countries without adequate labor protections. As a result, women and children are often subjected to grueling factory jobs in sub-standard conditions. Moreover, It is believed that domestic firms will face more competition from abroad. When the small domestic firms can’t compete, these firms can go bankrupt.

In conclusion, I think free trade have both benefit and drawback.