What are the benefits of genetically modified food? Are there any risks associated with these food items?

Population census has increased exponentially in the past decade and because of that the nourishment issue has become a challenge in the world. Modified genetic food has been one of the solutions that helped humanity in the past and nowadays. Despite the benefits of this type of food, it might have some risks which can affect human’s health. This will be shown by looking at the gain and threats associated with this food.

Although the term ‘ genetically modified’ might seem scary for some people, genetically modified food has made a revolution in the food industry. For example, in the past, the crops would be in a very bad condition due to the insects and fungal disease which affect the quality of food. Furthermore, the genetic modification has helped the plant to become more resistant to major diseases. In addition to that, the other benefit could be related to the food quality and size which has been improved by genetic modification. For these reasons, genetic modification could be powerful to improve our food.

On the other hand, there are some risks that could be related to genetic modification that could have an impact on human’s health. For instance, the long-term effect for these types of food might put people in possible risks which could be revealed in the coming years. Moreover, one of the drawbacks is that some of the animal kingdom species could be affected because they could not depend on the type of food that has been genetically modified. Therefore, genetically modified food could have a potential harm that affects our health and the animal life, too.

In summary, genetically modified food might have some risks as well as benefits. As a matter, I think that this type of food has improved our life and could be a growing idea around the world. However, further investigations should be done to avoid the risks related to genetically modified food.