Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

It is crystal clear that governments have tried to improve the quality of educations at universities in recent decades. Many people hold the opinion that it is essential to increase university professors' salaries, and the universities should pay them much more money. I, personally speaking, agree with this opinion. The reasons to substantiate my view are elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, spending more money on the salaries of university professors can persuade them to put more time into educating students. These days, the salary of university professors is not sufficient to prepare a normal life. Therefore, many professors work out of the universities to increase their incomes. So, they do not have enough time to study, do researches, and work with students. For instance, during my undergraduate program at my university, I had a chemistry professor. He had two kids and therefore, he always thought about their futures. Once, one of his kids asked him to buy a new bike. The professor had to work in a cotton company to prepare money for this. As a result, he did not have enough time to study before the classes and could not convey the concepts properly in the class. If the university had paid him more salary, the chemistry course would have been more efficient for students.

Second, increasing the salaries can improve the professors' self-confidence. They feel that they are more important, and therefore, they teach more efficiently. Also, by increasing the incomes, they can infer their essential role in society which can encourage them to spend more energy during the courses. My own experience can clearly demonstrate this. When I was a student in a university, I took a physics course. Before the beginning of the course, the professor's salary increased significantly. He felt that he had a vital role in university as well as society, and he began to use a novel educational method. All of the students in that course learned the physics concepts properly. Even difficult concepts, such as gravity, were understood by students completely.

To conclude, Having considered mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that universities should increase their professors' salaries. That is because it can encourage the professors to spend more time educating students, and also it can increase the professors' self-confidence.