Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether it is better for students to learn art and literature or math and science. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement; I think it is more important for people to study math and science. The following paragraphs will explain my two major reasons for this opinion.

First of all, science and math are more valuable than art and literature because knowledge of math and science is necessary for understanding and advancing technology. Technology has led this world to become extremely interconnected. The internet, cell phones and airplanes are all technological advances that people use every day and would not be possible without students of math and science inventing them. I heard a story on the news once that illustrates my point quite well. Used plastic is overflowing in landfills and polluting the seas. However, clever scientists have found interesting ways to reuse wasted plastic. In India, they mix thrown out plastic waste with asphalt and use it to pave new roadways. This invention is made possible because of science and math, and it can help solve the pollution problems in the oceans. If students do not continue to learn math and science, then more technologies of the future like this one may never be created. In order to continue making technological advancements, it is better for students to study science and math.

Secondly, math and science are more important subjects because people need to know them in order to save lives and keep everyone healthy. Doctors, nurses, and medical technicians are all former students of science and math. Drawing from my own experience, my brother recently went to college to become a surgeon. He is going to be studying for eight years, and almost all of his classes will be of these types. For example, he is now learning anatomy, algebra, biology, and geometry which are all science and math courses. When he graduates, he will have the skills to heal patients’ illnesses and injuries because he studies these subjects. For the sake of public health, it is more necessary for students to learn math and science than art and literature.

In conclusion, I strongly believe it is more important for students to study science and math than it is to learn about literature and art. This is because math and science provide students the knowledge to advance technology, and the ability to cure the sick and dying people in the world.