Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In all spheres of life, parents have been playing critical roles in the lives of their children right from childhood and up to their adulthood. While some people believe that parents of today are more engaged in their children’s education, I, on the other hand, strongly disagree that parents of today are more consumed with children's education as compared to parents of the past. Below are some of the reasons why I refute this argument.

In the light of the aforementioned statement, parents of today are immensely occupied with office works, meeting, business trips and barely spend considerable amount of time with their children. They are too busy to even remember to pick up the kids from school let alone to squeeze out time to educate these young ones morally, educationally and otherwise. Some parents of today spend lots of money to hire private teachers to teach their children after school hours due to the less time they have. This is opposite of what it used to be in the past. I can remember vividly how my mother used to create time every day to put me through some difficult mathematical calculations I had problems dealing with. It was her efforts that made me to love mathematics and performed excellently in my high school.

Secondly, the economic pressure from the society also poses some challenges for parents of today. Let’s take for instance, the inflation of house rents recently in Nigeria, lots of parents do have more than one job in order to pay for their house rents, feed their children, pay school fees and still carry out other financial burden that needs to be addressed. All these create problem for these parents to have adequate time necessary to support their children's education. Besides, these parents are greatly exhausted from work and the only little thing they can afford to do, is to either find food to eat and head straight to the bed to have some sleep. This occurs like a vicious cycle, day to day. On the contrary, parents of the past where not so occupied with having two or three jobs to do and so had ample time for their children. Personally speaking, my mother always returns from her office work at 4.30 pm and thereafter she spends time to find out how I performed in school that day, and always supported with her motherly advice.

In conclusion, the busy lives, societal and economic situations create hindrances for parents of today to be greatly involved in their children education.