Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

There is no doubt that in 21's century, there is no one which doesn't know the importance of the knowledge of the society. Despite the importance of it, it would help individuals to attain a power in which others would respect them because of their social place. One of these social places is the role of the teacher in the society. During the time between the past till now, their place has been remarkably diminished in society. I definitely believe that this is a reality in which has been occurred in-universe. There are a couple of reasons for this approach that will be discussed in the lines below.

As the level of education in graduate studies has been increased during the past decades, the number of educated individuals increased subsequently and teachers are not the pick of the most educated individuals like several years ago. So because people instinctively more respect to the individuals with higher academic education, and most of the teachers have B.Sc. degree, people do not say them as a pioneer of educated people in the society.

Nowadays, people admire the individuals with more rate of income, and as the average salary of the society of teachers is relatively low, they are not applying to the reach level of their society. Unfortunately, this unwritten law is promoted in most of the societies from when the societies change their major approach to the economic issues. Although this kind of insight has been existed from earlier, it amplified during the recent years.

As the increasing the worth of knowledge and education in most of the countries, not only the number of educated individuals like the teachers have been increased, but also some of them are unemployed nowadays. It will clearly inspire a signal to whole or the people that the individuals with lower levels of education are not as fruitful as the past for the society, so their attitude will be changed into a negative toward them.

To recapitulate, all the reasons presented above bring us to the conclusion that the place of the teachers has been diminished during the past decades. This is due to the reasons given, which are increasing the level of education in most of the societies, changing the values between people of the most countries from education to the economic issues, and unemployment of several educated individuals in some countries. A number of reasons were mentioned in this essay and yet it could be observed that probably many more reasons might exist that still supports diminishing of the teachers’ place in societies.