Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everything in life is like a coin having two different sides, people should weigh the pros and cons before jumping to a solution. After all, each and everything in the question and topic requires a careful deliberation as in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Although some people might disagree to this that the teachers were more appreciated by the society in the past. I strongly think that such opinion lacks the coherence to some extent. In my humble opinion, I think that teachers were more valued and appreciated in the past than today.

First and foremost, majority of people would agree to the notion that at present the students are less likely to respect their teachers as compared to the past. The present generation is more towards expressing and believing their own ideas compared to what their teachers say. To elaborate more to this, the students give less importance to their teachers efforts. Students now think that they would be able to gain more and better knowledge on the internet compared to what is taught to them by their teachers. To illustrate this by giving an example, I would like to express about my experience. When I was in my tenth grade we mostly learnt what our teachers taught us in the class and did rely on the notes and lectures given by the teachers. But now, when my younger brother in the same grade, they depend on the information given on the internet and believe that their teachers might be wrong. The efforts of their teachers are not valued as they are least interested in the classes and think that they might complete their work looking for in on the internet. Even though the internet can give them information but they cannot be as useful as explained by the teachers. All in all, we cannot and should not overlook the fact that even though we have the new technologies but the efforts made by our teachers should not be worthless and should make the most use of it.

On top of this, in the ancient times the teachers were worshiped as god. The people in the past thought that nobody could be more intelligent than their teachers. Whatever taught in the classes by the teachers and the effort they made was used to the fullest. The respect teachers got in the earlier times for the amount of their effort was not only appreciated by the students but also by the parents as they thought that nobody could teach better than their teachers. Students not only gain the academic information from their teachers but also the teachers teach us more valuable things like the basic manners. For instance, in India it is well written in the stories that the highly educated gods and goddesses gained the basic knowledge from their teachers and succeed in their life. They not only captured the information but also many other tasks from their teachers which now are well-studied by everybody in the books. Long story short, it is clear to me as a day that the teachers should be respected and the efforts they make their students to be successful should be respected in the society than wasting it.

In summation, Yes, it is virtually impossible to provide a completely satisfied answer to such an open-ended question. Although the jury may be out on this topic but, we can come to a mutual understanding that teachers in the past were more valued and hence, more respected compared to now.