Do you agree or disagree?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

There is no doubt that family play the key role in society. No one can deny the direct or indirect effect of parents in young people's lives. Nowadays, some may hold the opinion that in the past, young people depended on their parents in order to make decisions. However, some may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that today young people are more depended on their family than the past. From my own perspective, the first belief is true. In what follows, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reason.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that nowadays, there are more options to choose for getting advice rather than family. No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that today most of teenagers or teen people prefer to talk with their friends about their issues instead of their family. As an example, in my own experience, my girlfriend abandoned me two years ago. On that time, I had to make a important decision which was whether I move on and let it go or try to find her and ask her to give me one more chance. It was not easy for me to talk about this experience with family since I know they would tell me to forget about past and move on. Eventually I decided to talk to her and I could persuade her to give me one more chance. As you can see I could handle this issue by myself more properly.

The last but not the least reason by which the claim is justified is that most of the time parents think in tradition way. In other word, they usually come up with old ideas which are not handy anymore for this generation. Not only can they help their children, but also they might cause some problems for their children. For instance, one of my cousin married four years ago with a girl who was introduced to him by his mother. At first he really was not eager to marry with the girl but when his family insisted, he accepted finally. After a while, he did not seem to be happy and they had a lot of fight in their home. Their marriage didn’t come well at the end. They divorced only three months after their marriage. This experience taught me that were he to make his own decision, he probably would not divorce.

From what has been discussed, we may safely reach the conclusion that today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Not only do they have more choices, but also their idea is newer and more practical than their family's idea. Considering all reason mentioned above may lead us to try make our decisions by our own.