Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People are not perfect and can make mistakes while speaking in front of a group of others. Personally, I think that it is always better to correct a person if he or she made a mistake in a private and quiet atmosphere. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, people should not correct others in front of listeners because it can affect the reputation of the speaker. This is especially crucial if the speaker is a teacher. In order for children to listen to their educator in a classroom and learn from him, they have to respect him. If students do not appreciate their teacher, during the lessons they talk to each other instead of following the educator. In this way, they do not perceive a study material. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in school, my history teacher was a young one, who just graduated a college. High school students did not take him as someone who they supposed to listen, they always interrupted him if he confused dates of historical events, and as soon as he did not have enough experience in dealing with teenagers, he was not able to calm us down and make us learn his school subject. In fact, my knowledge of history was weak. That is why it is so important to let a person talk and correct him when he is alone.

Secondly, interrupting people while them speaking is rude. All people are different and everyone has moments when we cannot concentrate on the things we have to. Reasons for that can vary. For instance, when recently my husband was in a hospital, I was so stressed out because I was thinking about his health constantly and simply could not concentrate on my job. Unfortunately, at the same time, I had an important project to work on and had to give a speech in front of clients of the company I was working for. In fact, during a presentation, I made a mistake but nobody pointed on that since all my colleagues are educated people, who know how to behave appropriately. After the presentation, I understood my mistake and on the next day admitted it, which raised appreciation of my colleagues toward me. This example illustrates the value of being polite with others.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is crucial to point to someone`s mistakes privately. This is because it helps to keep a discipline of the auditory and indicates excellence of manners of the person who found the mistake.