old friends are important or new friends

Friends are an integral part of ones life. Some people believe it is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends. This essay will exhibit advantages of keeping old fiends closer.

Firstly, old friends from school and college grow together and mature together which creates an unbreakable bond between individuals. This pristine bond is such that old friends know each other in and out. For example, their strengths as well as weaknesses are thoroughly known which also helps bolster the loyalty amongst one another. Finding this level of integrity in a relationship is hard when a person is an adult and has significant responsibilities to cater to. Hence, keeping old friendships intact is superior.

Second, after a certain age it is considered difficult to make friends. A research from Harvard university states that one loses interest in making friends after they are occupied with jobs and businesses and are more of only colleagues. It becomes altogether more important to keep the friends one has has to share feelings and vent emotions

Third, one can only share secrets and problems with the friends who have been a part of their life for a long time. Specially in this covid era it has become cardinal to be able to share feelings in order to survive the depressing lockdowns. Studies have shown suicide rates have rapidly surged due to lockdowns. New friends would be unable to replicate the degree of comfort an old friend will be able to provide. Furthermore, since the friendship dates back to university days old friends will provide accurate advice and references which will elevate the well being of an individual significantly

In essence, old friends know each other the best and provide support which is required. In addition, making new friends is complex as working professionals. Hence, old friends are as valuable as gold.