in order to make freshmen adapt to college life, which one is more helpful?

1.take part in the orientation program for a week;

2.meet regularly with seniors in the same major

when students arrive at university they participate in orientation and ask for seniors to adapt to the new environment. however, I assume that it is better to attend a one-week orientation rather than experienced seniors. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, orientation week with a lot of new faces provides you a platform to develop your communicative skills. talking with seniors you are familiar with before hinders the skills you communicate with others. On the other hand, orientation where you have the opportunity to introduce yourself and make new friends with others. my older brother’s experience proves this is true. when he started at university, he was shy and he was unable to communicate or work well with others. however, after a one-week orientation, he became a confident communicator. this laid a good foundation for his future. During his four years in college, he participated in a lot of social events and he knew what to say and how to say on various occasions. when he began his career after graduation, he was recognized as a natural leader by his co-workers and supervisor. At the same time, because of his great communication skills, he advanced quickly through the ranks of his company. Therefore, orientation played an import role in improving your communication skills which substantially has a big influence on your future.

Additionally, orientation week will give you a more specific picture of your college. If you ask seniors about the details of your school, they may not give you the correct answer. In contrast, administers and scholars in the orientation program are more professional because they have been in the college for more than ten years. when you have a question about your life on campus they can in no time tell you the answer. For example, when I came to university, I just did not know my courses in my first semester. So I asked one of my friends who is a sophomore. he told me we would have 8 courses including advanced maths. however, the administrator told me we have 7 because sophomores did not know the latest change in our class schedule. Thus, the orientation program allows you to talk with administrators face-to-face to learn more about the college.

In conclusion, I feel strongly that orientation programs are more necessary for all freshmen than asking seniors for help. this is because orientation enables us to meet with new people and provide us the more correct information.