promotion should begiven based on seniority or performance

Every employee has a dream of getting a promotion in his organization. Some organization believes that the best way to give promotions is based on seniority; others think that it should be based on performance. There are certain advantages to both approaches.

If you choose the candidate for getting the promotion based on his seniority, you can get a man who is more experienced and loyal to the company. Furthermore, there is a great chance that he has some leadership qualities. On the other side, if you choose the candidate with greater performance, you will get the person who had been more beneficial to the company. Moreover, this could make the other employee give better performance in their work.

In my view, it is better to give promotions based on performance, rather than giving it based on seniority. There are certain reasons for that. Firstly, if you chose a candidate based on the performance, you are giving it to the person who has been the most beneficial to the company. Because if you give it on the based of seniority other employees who are working very hard for this company, will think that their efforts are not appreciated. Moreover, the senior person might think that he is getting the promotion only because of his seniority and might become complacent about his work.

Second of all, if you chose a candidate based on his performance, you will motivate others in improving their performance. For instance, last month, our company has decided to give the promotion based on the candidate’s performance in the last year. The person who gets the promotion was working very hard for the last few years but never gets promoted till now. We all saw that her hard work was appreciated and this motivated us to also improve our work. From then on, everybody in our company has started to work hard because we knew that at the end of this year, the person with the best performance will get the promotion.

That's why I believe that it is better to give promotions based on performance because not only it will be better for the hard-working person but also it will motivate others to improve their performance.