TPO 30. Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Human activity has significant effects on the earth. Many believe that these activities are harmful to the planet while on the other hand, some claim that the result was fabulous and we have a better place to live. I agree with the view that human activities are such a mess and are nothing more than a shame.

Mass extinction is known to be the direct outcome of human activities. Not only we are destroying our environment, but also our ancestors were great devastators. They demolished wherever they stepped in, and wildly hunted as many fauna as they could in order to use their meat and skin or reduce the probable threat of their existence to their farms and families. They destroyed jungles to create their private farms in which they could cultivate wheat, rice, grains, etc. Thus, little by little, the suitable habitats for wild animals were restricted. They completely manipulated the natural procedures of nature and changed them as the way they desired. No other animal could ever have this negative impact on the environment as humans did.

By the advent of the industrial revolution, the mass production has needed an abundant of workers to dig the coal mines in order to use their extracted materials as a source of energy which caused lots of pollution. From then on, people have never put aside that habit and continually go on polluting the weather with fossil fuels emitting from cars, factories, and homes. Today, climate change is of the top concerns of international communities, NGOs, and environmental communities. Furthermore, the universities and governments pay a lot of money on related researches. We are now experiencing many unpredictable fluctuations in the weather temperature and the level of precipitations and also the arctic glaciers melting is a grave concern of all earth dwellings.

At last, we cover all the free waters with plastics. Plastics are unrecyclable and there is no way to omit them from the surface of the earth. It takes such a long time for plastics to decompose, and it means that human invented another dangerous material to present to the planet. It is claimed that by 2040, over 98 percent of marine animals will have a piece of plastic in their stomachs, which will be remained inside forever and impose many health problems for them.