TPO 45: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, young people are able to make decisions about their own lives better than before. Therefore, I personally agree that in the past, young people depended on their parents to make their decisions. My three main seasons will be elaborated as follows.

First of all, in the past, there was no enough literacy among people. Thus, people could not study books to gain some skills and they transferred their experiences to each other. In that situation, parents could be one of the best sources to learn from them.

Second, many years ago, information was not as today. We know that today young people easily read books, search on the internet and so on. By these means, they can learn many skills from other people and even share their experiences to others. This leads that young people be more confident to current information to take their decisions instead of relying on their parents. For example, young people make decision to get marry by learning more about their fiance through Facebook or other existing social sites.

Finally, nowadays, there exist many psychologist who help not only young people, but also parents to make a decision. For instance, when young people intend to go to universities, they consult to a psychologist. The psychologist takes some tests and finds better interests of students than what parents may pursue.

In conclusion, in my opinion, young people are more private to make their decisions alone, without relying on their parents, than they did in the past because the lack of literacy, information and new technologies, and existent of psychologists who really help us to make a suitable decision.