Having free time is good when you are in college or high school. It is a great opportunity to rest, but also, to look for others opportunities aside your common routine. Many times, the students face the decision of either finding a part-time job or taking a part-time course, both of which have their own advantages and disadvantages. However, in my opinion it is better to take a part-time course.

Firstly, a part-time job can not only be another way of raising money, but also be important for having experience in your field of interest. It can allow you to expand your network, and to get acquainted with abilities required to your future career. But it can also be exhausting in many ways, mainly because you will have to work with clients and for companies with a lot more of responsibility than with a part-time course. Not only this, your mistakes will have effects to the businees, even if in a small scale.

On the other hand, a part-time course is more suited for a student. When I was having my degree, my advisor always told me to make the most as possible from the university. If you participate in part-time courses, or summer courses whitin the university or college, you definitely will be enhancing your knowledge. It is important to keep in mind that your main goal as a student is not to raise money, unless really needed, but to learn as much as possible. Taking more courses will also be good for your future career, as much as having experience in some cases, and also can expand your network. Also, your mistakes will only affect you in the in almost all situations.

Finally, it is necessary to dinstinguish between each step of your life. In my point of view, having more courses can be better for a student than having a part-time job, as it would be focused on learning. The student would have the oportunity to even discover others fields that he may be interested in, or to learn something that he wouldn't otherwise. As for the part-time job, it will eventually come one day that the student will have the opportunity to work and have experience, but it will be better for him to do so with more knowledge acquired in his courses.