Around the world, solar energy is becoming a more popular source of energy for many households. Why do you think this is so? What are the advantages and disadvantages of using solar energy to power one’s home?

It is argued that solar power is an effective and renowned energy source for many homes. This essay will firstly discuss the reasons of solar energy popularity and then outlines both the advantages and disadvantages of using solar power.

There are two main reasons for the sun to become the most favorite source of electricity. The first and major one is the high availability of the source. Little time of exposure to the sun, solar plates can produce enough energy for a home to survive for a day. The second reason is the cost involved in producing it. Once the system is installed, the owner pay almost nothing to government for the amount of power usage. For instance, the University of Melbourne conducted a study in March 2018 showed that the consumption of solar energy increased by 67% in metro areas recently as it is the cheapest energy available.

The advantage of having solar power installed at home as the funds paid by government to house owner as the government can share the unused solar energy to other homes. Being natural source, the carbon foot print on the nature from solar energy plant is almost null. However, the high costs involved in infrastructure, installation and open area requirements dragging more power plants usage to down. These are main disadvantages of solar energy which is expecting to be addressed by the government soon. For example, The New York Times recently published a survey that more than 60% of people are still living under no-sun area in metro areas but more interested to go for solar energy.

In conclusion, the sun based electricity usage for households is now a trending item and it helps the environment by reducing the green house gasses emission.