As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward to creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that the traffic problem is one of the biggest issues which governments are facing. While some people believe that building more roads will be the solution, others advocate that public transport is what the official department should promote. As far as I am concerned, creating a better network of the public transportation system will be more beneficial in respect of this issue.

People who emphasize the importance that governments should build more roads in cities are primarily focusing on the function of the freeways. They argue that building more freeways can reduce congestion in urban areas. Nevertheless, this argument does not hold water. This is because most people work in the suburb close to where they live. However, congestion is a traffic problem in downtowns instead of rural areas which the freeway may play a role.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that the public transport system has more advantages. The main justification of this view is that it decreases the road congestion problem in the city. If more people travel by train, tram or bus, there are fewer cars we will have on the road, thus saves the times which people spend on commuting and resolves traffic jams. For instance, in the past few years, I spent more than an hour driving from workplace to home. However, since the railways are built in my city this year, I just cost half time than before to commuting by taking the train.

In a nutshell, although this controversial topic never fails to attract public attention, we may safely reach the conclusion that there is a need for governments to put money on developing the public transport network instead of building more roads.