The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is the colossal upsurge in the claim of animals having rights being as a matter of debate. There is a widespread worry that this will only lead to a myriad of concerns in the society. In my opinion, the claim of zoos are helping animals has more negative impacts than positives in the society.

On the one hand, critics may point out that one of the most significant benefit of is the endangered animals can be protected with 24/7 care. For example, Polar bears, unlike in the past, now have been kept in zoos and protected, as in the past they were not protected in closed circuits.

On the other hand, there are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. One of the most preponderant ones is that protecting endangered animals in zoos have negative consequences for animal themselves in various ways. Firstly, they will never get go know their natural habitat and their community, such as vultures inside a boundry of zoos will not get chance to interact with other animals or birds. According to "Times Magazine December 2017 edition", the proportion of preserving animals in zoos have been reduced from 31 per cent to 13 percent today. Secondly, a large portion of ecosystem is being disturbed, because of this environment gets polluted.

Lastly, in my opinion, the government of Nepal is taking a great initiatives to educate its people against the negative impact of keeping animals in zoos. Citizens are being informed to protect the endangered animals and birds, to maintaining the eco-system.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite having some benefits, the drawbacks of keeping animals in the zoos are indeed too dire to ignore.