A common marketing strategy for big companies is to introduce various offers and discounts. However, these strategies may have impact on their reputation. What are some of the impacts?

Almost all companies of the modern era face stiff competition from competitors and are thereby forced to offer discounts and rebates to customers. While some people believe that discount sales can boost revenues, others maintain that such marketing techniques will harm the reputation of the company. This essay will discuss how various offers can be detrimental to the sales and, therefore, tarnish the reputation of the company.

Many customers buy products only when they are on discount sale. This trend has caused companies to consistently offer discounts. As a result, the product margins have began to plummet. Recent statistics show that fifty percent of companies that offer various discounts went bankrupt in short time. Under these circumstances, selling products on discount will affect the well-being of companies.

Despite the evident impact on profits, some people think that offering discounts and rebates will help sales improvement. But what they don’t understand is that there is a popular feeling among customers that products with huge discounts often lack quality. For example, mobile phone brands that offered budget versions of smartphones reported heavy decline in sales because people thought cheap phones lack quality. It is clear that various offers and discounts will eventually create a bad reputation for the company.

This essay discussed how discounts can lower profits of the company and also create a bad impression about the brand. In my opinion, companies should not offer discounts on their products.