Online shopping is destroying local businesses.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of online shopping with regards to this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experiences or observations.

The rising popularity and accessibility of the internet have enabled exponential growth for online businesses. While some people believe that online shopping has eaten into the revenue of local businesses, others maintain that online shopping is an enabler for further growth of local shops. This essay will discuss why internet-enabled shopping helps local business and, therefore, online shopping is not a destroyer of local businesses.

Even though, many products are now available to order through online shopping websites, there are still a lot of items which are not possible to be sold online. Obviously, perishable items and stuff that are needed immediately are better bought through neighborhood retail stores rather than ordering online. For example, we can’t buy milk and bread online. This suggests that online shopping is not here to replace the conventional stores.

Despite the inevitable need for local businesses, some people think that the surging popularity of online shopping will eventually make local shops go bankrupt. But what they don’t understand is that, nowadays, most of the small businesses are also enabling online ordering capability. Studies show that in all major cities the restaurants have the capacity to take the order through the internet. This will enable further growth of local businesses in this internet era.

This essay discussed why online shopping cannot replace brick and mortar shops completely. In my opinion, online shopping is not a detrimental development for local businesses.