Do you think consumers should avoid over-packaged products or is it the responsibility of producers?

Over packaging has become a trend among producers which has many impacts on consumers. Some people believe that over packaging is a great initiative to increase sales, whereas some tend to believe that over packaging is a waste of resources and time. This essay will discuss why over the packaging of products is not good for consumers and it has many damaging effects on us.

Packaging cost is always catered in the market price by the manufacturer and this results in an increase in the cost of products. Due to highly competitive markets, manufacturers often try to make packaging very attractive. Amazon has started using the standard packaging which has reduced the cost of many products drastically. Over packaging has done more harm to producers than increasing the sales.

Packaging usually used is made from polyethene and plastic materials which are the major cause of pollution. These packagings are usually thrown away which often damage the ecosystem around us. National Environment Association of Greenland statistics shows that every year millions of aquatic and non-aquatic animals lost their lives when they come in contact with the material. Packaging made of polythene and plastic must be banned in order to protect our environment.

Over packaging must be replaced by conventional packaging to overcome many flaws in the packaging industry. In my opinion, standard packaging will change the face of packaging industries and will help to reduce pollution caused by them.