Do you think that English will remain to be a global language despite globalization?

The role of English as a global language across the world is widely debated with many academics claiming that the English will thrive with the advent of globalization. In my opinion, the proliferation of English as the universal language will continue to increase. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various reasons why the influence of English as a language is prominent. The most conspicuous one is that the English has become the language of trade, commerce, business, science, literature and others which has made the world connected as never before. For instance, people are nowadays learning English more than any other foreign languages. Thus, there is no doubt that the English has become the most convenient medium of communication for people across different countries.

Another key justification for upholding this notion is that the English as the lingua franca has overruled the local languages and regional dialects of various countries. For example, it is generally believed that in spite of thousands of dialects across the countries, English is the most commonly spoken language and has become the language of the modern world. Hence, the English is the only language which has thrived in this contemporary world.

This essay discussed how English is the language of communication and surpassed the barriers of the modern world. In my view, English is the language of today’s world and will flourish in future.