What are the positive and negative effects of today’s communication?

The role of revolution in today’s communication is widely debated with many people claiming that the new means of communication have drastically worsened the situation for people. However, I believe that the potential influence of communication has improved the interaction between people. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various reasons why contemporary means of communication have become a vital aspect of interaction today. The most conspicuous one is that the new technological advances have paved a way for an instant, effective and convenient interaction. Moreover, the human interfaces like Facebook, Skype and Zoom contribute to real-time and free video calling with distant friends and relatives. Therefore, it is apparent that distance is no longer a barrier in the recent forms of communication and offer advantages of free or nominal roaming calls overriding the primary forms of telephone and telegram.

Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks which can certainly overwhelm the potential benefits of recent communication. The most alarming is that these forms create a lot of distractions for the children and young adults and thus, hampers their work and learning environments. Furthermore, people are always glued to the screens of computers that they no longer engage in real face to face conversations with their family and friends. Hence, this evidence that people nowadays feel more isolated, dull and unsocial.

In views of the arguments outlined above, the merits of today’s communication far outweigh the demerits and the substantial influence of communication has undoubtedly made quicker and efficient contact with people although there are some downsides which can easily be overlooked.