As eBooks are available online these days, the value of paper based books has diminished drastically. Do you agree or disagree?

These days internet is burgeoning with books of all range starting from the classic novels to the latest technology books, all available as electronic copy of the original books. This phenomenon has sparked a heated debate among the people. While contested by many that these online books are demeaning the fame of the paper books, such issues are considered both constructive and positive by a significant number of individulas. I am inclined to believe that the eBooks are increasingly taking over the printed books and I will discuss this in this essay.

The number of people visiting library has come down drastically. As all the books required are accessible easily and quickly through the electronic media the readers can choose to access their favourite book from anywhere, and any time. For example, online books website www.readers.com can be used to search any book by any author and is available for them instantly. This might not be the case with real libraries as the printed copies in a library will be limited and might not be available. For such obvious reasons the need to use a physical book has plummeted among the people of all age group.

Within the realm of environment, computer based books have been playing a significant role. It is evident that plethora of trees are cut every single day to produce papers on which books are printed. An academic research undertaken by a prestigious university in recent times has concluded that with the introduction of eBooks the deforestation rate has reduced significantly. Hence it is required to encourage more on computer based reading than hardcopy books concerning the environment.

In conclusion, whereas, there are numerous arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the advantages of electronic books far outweigh any minor disadvatages.