Employees included in the decision making process

Many decades ago employees were just seen as a number and would do what their boss told them without being included in the decision-making process. In this essay, I will explore both the benefits and the drawbacks of including all employees in the decision-making process.

The benefit of including employees in the decision-making process, is that each employee feels like that they are valued. That their voice is valued and they have value to add to an organisation. This has other spin-off affects as employees that feel more valued are willing to go the extra mile for the organisation, thus creating better customer service and customer satisfaction which creates greater profits for an organisation.

The drawbacks to allowing employees to voice their opinions, is that strategic message of the entity can get lost. Too to many differing opinions can take the organisation in multiple directions and can distract from the main objective of the organisation. Making meetings unproductive as one person pitches their opinion against another.

In conclusion, it’s the organisation leader’s job to set the environment for including employees in the decision making process, create the context of the meeting and ensure the meeting is not derailed from its objective. This would balance the benefits and drawbacks for the optimum outcome.