Formal examinations still relevant

Many people question if written examinations are the best method of testing one’s knowledge on a subject. In this essay, I will consider both spectrums of the argument argument, for and against written exams.

For subjects that require physical output, for example, woodwork, building a house or hairdressing a written exam would test the logical approach to deriving the anticipated outcome. However, you can logically know that a foundation of a house is to be laid first but without the practical test of laying a foundation, one may have passed the written exam but would fail miserably at the practical exam which would have devastating consequences. Hence why so many careers today require you to take written and then practical exams. As one without the other would be futile. Many people perform well practically but struggle to take written examinations as there is a skill in taking a written examinations and many can pass without truly understanding the underlying concepts.

There are careers that must a written examination to test one’s aptitude, for example, a physicist, graphic designer and IT programmer. Written examinations has (have) the ability to test are the required knowledge as there is no tangible output.

In conclusion, there is both place (places) for written and practical exams and for one to proceed another would be a disservice to those pursuing practical careers