International marketing and impact on cultures

International marketing has disrupted traditional ways of marketing. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of international marketing.

In today’s work where globalisation is ramped, international marketing is part and parcel to this globalisation as products from around the globe fill our stores and become common products.

International marketing is geared to capture a range of audience and with the blend of cultures and diversity that exists in countries today this marketing allows companies to contain marketing spend and still target their audience.

This type of marketing normally does ignore the countries culture and traditions, for instance, beef burgers being advertised in India. When where most Indian cultures consider cows to be sacred. This is a complete disregard for the local countries traditions and culture also impacting on the local economy that because local ad agencies were not hired to produce the ad.

While international marketing is beneficial to companies, it has an impact on traditions and cultures when they are ignored. Eroding culture and traditions as mass marketing is seen to be cool. Also crippling small ad agencies in the local countries and enriching first world ad agencies. Therefore, international marketing should be carried out with a degree of care and a due diligence to respect local culture and traditions.