Mass communication

Technology has massively changed the way we live communicate, mass communication now consists of calls, texts and video chats. In this essay, I will explore the positive and negatives information technology has had on mass communication.

Decades ago the only form of communication was letters, telegraphs, faxes and voice calls. Today with cellphones and the internet being affordable to the mass population, people are able to connect and communicate more frequently and more often. People can call and video chat, from anywhere across the globe at any time.

This allows families who live large distances from one another to stay in touch more often and see their family via video calls. Keeping family members and loved ones up to date with the events of your life and allowing them to feel more connected and involved in one another’s lives despite being so far apart.

The downside to being able to connect to your loved ones at any time is that, it’s a consistent intrusion on one’s life. There is no off or stop button, and people expect for you to answer your phone every time it rings. This not allowing people to truly ever be alone and disconnected from the world. The form of communication has also made mass communication like Facebook possible and communication has become less personal. Keeping updated with people lives no longer requires you to interact with them but their Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts.

In conclusion, it’s wonderful that people can connect so quickly over great distances but the art of connecting individually has become a lost art due to social media and is eroding key social skills required.