explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. what can governments do to address these problems? what can individual people do?

The controversial topic with respect to environment change never fails to attract public attention. There has been a heated debate on in which way human damages the ecosystem the most and what can government and individuals do to cope with this problem.

As far as I am concerned, the most harmful approach by our human is greenhouse emission and deforestation. First of all, the greenhouse gas can cause the drastic increase in global average temperature. A phenomenon that can lead to the acceleration of polar glaciers melting. For example, the average sea level has raised 2 meters since last century by monitoring. As a result, it brings up several significant problems, especially the decrease of coast territory in some countries. Secondly, the deforestation is part of the reason of some animal's distinction. Because by the reducing amount of forest, animals are imposed to migrate to other habitation in order to survive themselves from this disaster. Thus, both the food chains of some carnivores and herbivores are damaged as the disappearance of predators and preys. In other words, the ecosystem is no longer existing.

Meanwhile, there are still a variety of options which humans can choose to mitigate these problem through government policy and human activity. The most efficient methods that government can take is laws introduction and legislation on tax and revenue. Those companies and factories which emit pollutant annually should take more responsibility on environmental protection. On the other hand, individuals also have the accountability to reduce their impact on this problem. For instance, through daily activities, citizens could choose public transportation rather than driving cars, increasing the frequency of using degradable plastic bags. In light of this, by the actions of both government and individuals, the effects of these efforts can be phenomenal.

In conclusion, among all the harmful influence human have on environment, greenhouse gas emission and deforestation should be considered the most, and through the compulsory policy of governments and self-consciousness by individuals, the damage can be kept in low level.