The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

A topic that has recently become a long-running dispute, is locally produced food, which leads to a moot question “does it bring more advantages?”. Although it is highly argued that local produced foods provide people with more benefits, I am inclined to believe that they bring several negatives.

In economic terms, it is crystal clear that regional farming is indeed bound to increasing agricultural products, which means that it would lead to both being more affordable and importing less goods. For example, a group of reputable scientists, working at a prestigious university, conducted a longitudinal study to understand the relationship between variety of fruits and vegetables, exporting crops, and being a source of revenue. Thus, this evidence presented thus far support the connection that economic success is positively correlated with not only earning more money but also with being more profitable.

From an environmental perspective, there is little room for doubt that producing more waste is attributable to consuming more pesticides, in that it would lead to being more environmentally friendly and creating more job opportunities as well as the lack of labors. A well-known example of such attributions is producing more genetically modified crops, which are cause for concern since they had been mistaken in taking an increasing population for granted. Thus, it is obvious that fertile lands and transporting goods could play a significant role in rising consumption.

Considering all the reasons mentioned above, the advantages of local products are of high importance. However, as every garden may have some weeds, local authorities are recommended to enforce some strict legislation, and individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.