Gerontologists, people who study the process of ageing, are getting closer to finding a way to increase the human lifespan significantly. They claim that within the next few decades humans may be able to live for 500 years or more. Would living for 500 years have positive or negative impacts on the world?

Support your response with details from your own experience.

Finding a 'fountain of youth' has been a dream for many storybook characters. Now gerontologists are very close to converting this dream into reality by expanding the lifespan of human beings up to 500 years or more. This essay will discuss how living an extraordinary long life would have more negative repercussions than the positive ones.

Some individuals hold the unrealistic desire to live an extraordinary long life. For them the work of gerontologists on expanding lifespan can be proved as an elixir to them. However, how far such idea will be effective is unclear and it will not be in the favor of mankind in any respect.

In contrast, our planet have limited natural resources with large growing population. If in the future people will live so long and if the birthrate will also keep on accelerating, it would become a massive problem for the human society to survive. For instance, the growing population will of course need resources for their existence and that will be insufficient because of the people living long life. Hence, living for 500 years or more will surely have a negative impact on humankind.

This essay discussed how living an extraordinary long life would have more negative impacts in terms of limited resources than positive ones. In my opinion, I strongly believe that living a life 500 years or more is completely a devastating idea which is not in favor of our planet and society.