Laws can change human behavior. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout history, the question of whether law can alter human behavior has generated a great deal of heated debate among sociologists and lawmakers. The popular belief seems to be that rules and regulations can change human behavior at a remarkable rate. I cannot but agree with this view for social and psychological reasons.

First and foremost, it is a well-established fact that rules make people more law-abiding in that it specifies social norms. Simply put, numerous studies have shown that societies with strict regulations can control people's behavior effectively.

More significantly, not only can law make individuals obedient to rules, but also it paves the way for the government to govern the society. In fact, rarely can we see a society with strict regulations in which people find the government ineffective. As a case in point, Scandinavian countries are characterized by their strict rules which makes their people feel happiness and exhilaration.

Another compelling argument in support of this view could be the fact that establishing neat rules and regulations

is highly likely to contribute to decreasing the rate of crime significantly. That is, people do not perpetrate crimes

in that they know that they have to accept the consequence of their behavior. In other words, relevant rules and deterrents halt the growth of criminal acts.

Having considered all sides, I conclude that law can change human behavior remarkably due to reasons such as making people more law-abiding, facilitating governing for the authorities and reducing the rate of misdemeanors and crimes among people from all walks of life.