'Nowadays many young people leave home at an early age to either study or work in another city. '

Do you think this has more advantages or disadvantages for young people Support your point of view with reasons and examples from your own experience.

It has become quite common for young people to leave home either for study or work purposes. This affords numerous advantages for those who do this but it is not without its difficulties either.

Living independently at a young age gives young people many opportunities to learn. For example learning how to budget money. manage time. complete paperwork or forms. work or live with new people and in some cases learn how to cook and look after a home (point I advantage). Without having parental guidance on every Single issue or problem encountered young people can also learn about how to solve problems and make decisions independently.

However, living away from home is not without its drawbacks. For one thing youngsters may feel isolated, lonely and homesick living in a new place without their family for the first time. They may not be sufficiently mature to adapt and could fan into debt through not managing their money, or fail to keep up with their studies, or be late or absent from work due to lack of time management skills. In the worst scenario. without parental guidance, they may become friendly with. or influenced by, unsuitable people and get involved in criminal activities.

On the whole, however, I still believe it is a positive development for most young people to have independence at an early age. as long as they are made aware of the possible problems of living away from home. They should also be given advice prior to leaving home and continuing support, albeit from a distance. once they have left home.