A competitive environment in school and university would bring excellence and need to be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about a competitive environment in school and university would bring excellence and need to be encouraged. While it is possible to claim that a competitive environment encourages students to make a big effort, My point of view is that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I shall explain my view by analyzing the both sides of the argument.

There are many reasons why a competitive environment in school and university would not bring excellence. First of them, it produces many issues and problems between students, so this causes depressed environment. It can be also argued that it initializes negative attitudes between students. It should be also taken into account that students might not work as team and this will decrease collaboration activities.

Those who argue for a competitive environment have a different view and stay that it can be actually a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that a competitive environment encourages students to make a big effort to keep them at the top. Then, there are concerns about the students will develop their talents and mental thinking by participation into lot of competitions.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that a competitive environment is a great environment which helping students to gain lot of benefits. I would strongly recommend that school and university administration should encourage many activities to build a competitive environment.