Nowadays, television is an essential part of our lives, as a medium to spread news and awareness, and, for some, it even acts as a companion. What is your opinion about this?

This is an era of Global village, where any piece of information is just few clicks away. Having TV remote in the hand anyone can think to access the information. The medium is so fast that event happened in one part of the world is available to all the people in the world. In this essay, I shall give my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why TV is an essential part of our lives. One of them is that it spreads news and awareness very quickly. Therefore, people depend on it as it is so fast medium. If we compare TV as medium with newspaper, it can be inferred that TV is fast medium. Moreover, all types of news whether it for sports, food or current affair, is available on TV. Hence, TV sometimes acts as the best companion.

Those who argue that TV is wastage of time have different views. In their view, people learn when the communication is two away. However, watching TV is one way communication. Hence, one group of people imposing their ideas on their viewers. People who watch TV most of the time, find less time for social interaction. Similarly, children are busy watching TV whereas physical activity is more important in this age.

In conclusion, TV is important medium of information. Along the way we should not forget about the essential part of live, which is social interaction, physical activity for the children. Moderate use of TV is helpful whereas excessive use of anything is bad.