Online language learning has advantages over classroom instruction.
Learning languages online has become more popular in recent years.
The medium lends itself well to learning a language as it can offer audio,
video and personalised tutoring on the one platform. This essay will
argue that online language learning has several distinct advantages
over classroom instruction.
Learning a language online can be very convenient and time saving.
Instead of travelling to school, I am able to study at home, in an office or
while travelling to work on public transport. I can timetable my own study
hours, setting time aside during the day and evening for this specific
purpose. In this way I am able to organise my day in a way that suits
me.
Online language learning can be personalised to meet my academic
level and learning needs. A course can be tailored to my level, providing
me with an individualised learning program. As well, I can work with a
tutor to model language and answer my many questions. In this way a
whole course can be organised to improve my language skills and help
me meet my learning goals.