The ownership of cars should be restricted to one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that every individual has privilege to owe a car whereas others argue ownership should be limited to one per family. In my perspective, one car per family clause will help to reduce the traffic congestion and pollution.

Firstly, every country suffering from pollution and traffic congestion has number of cars about sixty percent of total vehicles. For instance, people in Calgary have to suffer an hour traffic jam every day and a survey conducted by Department of Road (DOR), Calgary has shown that cars occupied seventy percent of road area during traffic congestion. In addition, most of the Calgary family has more than two cars that run every day. Moreover, DOR, Calgary extrapolated that if the number of cars can be limited to one per family, traffic congestion will decrease to ten to fifteen minutes only.

Secondly, if the numbers of cars, occupying more than fifty percent of road area, reduces, emission of Carbon dioxide decreases which is the major source of air pollution. In a research conducted by one of the universities of USA, it has found that restricting the number of cars to one per family minimizes the air pollution to 2.3 unit from 4.7 unit. Not only air pollution, but also decreases the pollution of sound, water, and so forth.

In a nutshell, nevertheless cars comfort our lifestyle, they are the major sources of pollution and traffic congestion. Thus, restricting cars to one per family decreases the pollution and road congestion and eventually creates livable environment.