As part of education, students should spend a period of time studying and living in a different country to learn language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the phenomenon of studying abroad and its corresponding impact has sparked a heated debate. Although the matter of language and cultural barriers are contested by many, a substantial number of individuals think this issue is an opportunity to boost their life and educational quality. I am inclined to believe that acquaintance with new cultures can be a plus, and I will analyze both views throughout this essay.

From a social standpoint, living in a new country for education can provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that merits of expanding skills, as well as experience new life, are inextricably bound up. According to my own experience, when I was a university student in a foreign country, I have learned many things from taking out my comfort zone and improving independence to encountering with the new culture. Thus, beneficial ramifications of both boosting social network and having friends from entire the world apparently can be seen.

On the other hand, opponents believe that studying in another country might increase the consequences of cultural shock. The reason pertains to face with a new language, culture, customs and foods, and encountering with these challenges can take time. As a tangible example, some scientific research undertaken by Manchester University has asserted that language problems and acclimation with host culture are the main reasons for international students’ weaknesses. Hence, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of cultural challenges.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of staying in a foreign country to learn new things far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of raising self-esteem prove the significance of an independent lifestyle, but also pinpoint broaden the perspective on life implications.