It is impossible to deny the fact that both science and arts are the two critical aspects of today’s society. Although some people believe that arts is more important than science, in my opinion, I believe that science is more important as it contributes to advanced technologies, as well as, increased productivity, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, scientists and engineers designed and developed the latest technologies which cannot be achieved by arts. For example, the technologies on internet and smart phones which allow video conferencing and international call have successfully contributed to globalization and help people connect to each other without the hassle of traveling. Therefore, without science information and ideas are hard to get across between individuals and nations. As a result, the development of technology is a beneficial result of science.

Furthermore, another reason making science more important is that science, rather than arts, increased productivity. The advanced machines and manufacturing processes developed by engineers and scientists were found to increase 70% of the productivity in Germany in the past ten years according to one of the studies done by Sydney University. Hence, science boosted productivity in society and eventually lead to economic growth.

In conclusion, science is more important than arts because science contributes to increased productivity and promotes the development of technology. Governments should increase funding used for those purposes and raise public awareness of scientific achievements.