In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting? !f voting is compulsory in a democratic society, what are some conclusions we can draw about the nature of democracy?

These days, there is continuous debate of either voting must be compulsory in democratic system or not. While some people argue strongly in favor of compulsory voting, others simply despise it. In this essay, I will discuss importance of voting and its overall advantages in society.

Democracy is the way in which people select their representative for making government. In this way every person should vote so that his favorite candidate can win. If some educated people don’t vote then there are chances that good people will not be selected thus putting question mark on whole system. As per last year report of Pakistan Election Commission in recent election voters turn out was only 55% which is too low. This turn out can only increased if voting is compulsory by law. So I strongly agree that voting must be compulsory.

If voting is compulsory in a society then we can conclude that people are taking interest in democratic system. In this phenomenon democracy will represent contribution of maximum people in this system. Elected people will also feel more accountable as they have to answer large public. This will increase overall confidence of general public in government system. For example, there are many countries in the world where there is democratic system since long and these countries are developed with more speed than others where democracy is not so strong.

In conclusion, democracy is best way of government and voting must be compulsory in this system which will increase overall efficiency of the system.