'Schools should prepare students for universities, rather than for work.' How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Recently, the phenomenon of main objective of schools and universities in education system has sparked the debate. While some people argue that schools must prepare students for universities, others simply despise it. In this essay, I will discuss the core functions of schools and universities in student life and will prove that why schools must prepare students for universities.

In our education system, schools are the first institutions where students go for education. The main objective of sending students to school is to access student’s interests, strengths and weaknesses, so that its future career can be selected. For example when I started education, my family sent me to school where I received my basic education and as per my interest in mathematics, I selected Engineering field. So school should access student’s interests and prepare them for respective field.

On the other hand, the purpose of universities must be enhancing student’s abilities in his favorite field by theories and practical knowledge. It will help him to master in his field and be prepared for work. In my case, when I started my education in engineering university I learned a lot of technical subjects which helped me a lot throughout my professional career. So we can say that universities can prepare their students well for work.

After analyzing main objectives of schools and colleges we can strongly argue that schools must prepare students for universities and not for professional life.