In some high schools, mathematics is an optional subject. Other high schools make mathematics mandatory for all pupils.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you choose that position?

Mathematics is a subject of calculations. There are certain schools where mathematics is an optional subject while it is mandatory in some schools. This essay will discuss the reasons why it should be compulsory for all students.

To start with, mathematics is quite an old subject and it holds a primitive value in everyone's day to day life. This is a subject which teaches oneself about calculation of numbers. An individual, for example, at least needs to know the basic mathematics to calculate his expenses which is quite impossible without learning it. Therefore, mathematics comes in use for calculations not only during the school days but throughout the life and so it should be mandatory for all.

Mathematics also serves as a background subject for myriad of higher studies. There are various higher qualifications which require mathematics as an earlier background subject. Engineering or Accounting, for instance, are the degrees which basically looks for mathematics as a previous subject. Hence, for one who wants to pursue higher studies which may have a criteria to have mathematics as his prior subject then it really become necessary to make it compulsory for all.

This essay discussed how mandatory mathematics teaching makes oneself learn & understand the calculations and preparing oneself for higher studies. In my opinion, making mathematics compulsory for all students is much more beneficial than making it an optional subject.