Television serves many functions. Watching TV makes us relax. We can learn knowledge and information from TV programs. Besides, TV can also be seen as a companion. To what extent do you agree with this?

Recently, the phenomenon of "television serves many functions" and its corresponding impact has sparked a long-running dispute. Whereas many people are debating the proposition that watching TV might be remarkably fruitful, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a remarkable number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that learning knowledge from TV can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

From the society standpoint, several functions of television such as gathering information can provide the society with profound effects, which might stem from the fact that promoting the awareness of people and TV programs are inextricably bound up. Regarding my personal experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment that discovered the effects of TV advertisements. Thus, invaluable ramifications of both relaxing by watching television and enjoying TV movies distinctly can be observed.

Within the realm of physiology, without the slightest doubt, the number of functions of television, for example, being as a companion might exacerbate the already catastrophic consequences of the lack of physical activities. Moreover, fundamental aspects of functions of television can relate to the reality that the demerits of watching TV can pertain to not having a companion. As a tangible example, some scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that if the downsides of TV programs were correlated positively with physical exercises, the local authorities would ultimately address improving the quality of talk shows. Hence, it is reasonable to infer the preconceived notion of a good balance between watching TV and physical activities.

To conclude, despite several compelling arguments on both sides, I opt to vigorously support the idea that the merits of various functions of television far outweigh its downsides.