The time people devote in job leaves very little time for personal life. How widespread is the problem? What problem will this shortage of time cause?

Recent days, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trends to see prodigies discussing the driving reasons behind working for extended hours in the offices. Different distinguished individuals have expressed their views on this trend through various modes of communication including mainstream media and digital media. this essay will further elaborate on why people work for stretched hours at their workplaces and what are its impacts.

At the outset, there are myriad reasons for people working for long hours; however, the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that they want to promote quickly on the job ladder. More specifically, the thirst to impress their seniors and get quicker promotions lead them to work harder and longer. Moreover, people, these days want a luxurious lifestyle and in order to get that they work like never before. For example, a recent study published in The Urban times revealed that 7 out of 10 people want a fully air-conditioned house. Therefore, it is undeniable that financial status and job promotions are the key reasons for people to work harder and longer.

Despite the arguments above, the downside of this trend, meanwhile, cannot be neglected. Primarily, since employees are spending their daytime in their companies, they are getting less time to spend with their family, relatives, and children. Consequently, the family bonding and family values are deteriorating. Secondly, many health issues such as diabetes and blood-pressure are soaring, owing to the physical and mental stress that this lifestyle brings. Hence, consistent with this line of thinking, it is clearly evident that the side-effects of longer working hours are too dire to ignore.

In conclusions, after having closer inspection upon before mentioned paragraphs, I strongly believe that people should keep a work-life balance in their lives.