What are the pros and cons of staying connected on social media for 24 hours a day?

In today's contemporary era, social media has a massive influence on the daily lives of people. While there is no doubt that it is a great information tool, others think that it has led to distraction too. This essay will discuss how social media is a great tool for knowledge.

To begin with, social media provides information about the daily lives of people. This can be seen when people keep themselves updated with their surrounding including the national and international news. For instance, social media provides live updates on weather and traffic jam reports which could directly impact the decision making by people. Thus, it can be clearly stated that social media is a reservoir of local and national information.

In contrast, some people bolster their arguments by stating that longer access to social media leads to inattention and distraction to them. Moreover, it provides access to forbidden websites which can affect young children to a great extent. For example, many people have suffered from a loss of concentration at work and even restricted the access to their children. Thus, it shows that access to social media has adverse effects and can lead to anti-social activities.

In conclusion, I believe despite social media has some negative influence on the younger generation, it still provides a vast source of knowledge to them. This can help to broaden their scope of learning.