What are the pros and cons of staying connected on social media for 24 hrs a day.

Recently, we have witnessed mammoth growth in the use of social media among all sections of the society. Proponents are debating over its positive and negative influences on people and on their behaviors. Many are of the view that it has profound benefits, however, others hold opposite view stating that it has severe detrimental impacts on the physical and mental health of the members. In this article, I am going to discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of staying connected on social media for 24 hrs. a day.

To begin with, there are numerous ill effects of staying connected on the social media for 24 hrs. a day, it makes people addicted and lazy which have both psychological and medical severities. For instance, after various research, it has proven that social media is not only the biggest time waster but also leads to genetic problems like obesity. Moreover, children are not interested in outdoor sporting activities due to higher engagement on social media sites like the Facebook and Instagram, this led to poor cognitive and holistic development in them.

On the other hand, there are minor advantages to staying connected on social media with friends and families. Due to the enormous penetration of social media people can stay connected with their distance family members, removing physical location barrier. It helps to eradicate homesickness for the people leaving away from family. Furthermore, we can learn wide verities of diverse culture and rituals of foreign land staying far away.

In conclusion, from the above examples, it is evident that there are both pros and cons of staying connected on social media for round the clock. If used wisely it can be boon for the society otherwise, it can turn in to the ban.